Monday 13 February 2012

Greece passes the new Memorandum

Voting has started on the latest bail-out memorandum in the Greek Parliament. Prime Minister Papademos just gave a reasoned yet stirring speech that was greeted with applause. MPs are voting “yes to all” or “no to all”.

So far, the main PASOK deputies – Papoutsis, Diamantopoulou – have voted yes to all.

Dora Dora Bakoyianni voted yes. Procopis Pavlopoulos voted yes. Kaklamanis voted yes.

Some big names from PASOK voted no: Vasso Papandreou, Louka Katselli, Milena Apostolaki and Marileza Xenogiannakopoulou voted no. Eliza Vozenberg voted no. All the far-left parties voted no.

Few defections. The yes votes are overwhelming.

George Karatzaferis, the LAOS leader, is absent – no vote. Only Georgiades and Vorides from LAOS voted yes: all other LAOS deputies were absent. There are about 20 defections from ND and 20 defections from PASOK. All "no" voters are to be disbarred from each party, according to speeches made by George Papandreou and Antonis Samaras earlier tonight. 

Mega TV is running the vote on a right-hand screen, and on the left, footage of the rioters in Constitutions Square, right below the Plaza Hotel, on the corner where the Public store is located. It seem impossible that 30-40 young hooligans can’t be caught.

The new memorandum passes – most likely with about 200 votes.

© Philip Ammerman, 2012 
Navigator Consulting Group

No comments:

Post a Comment